Connection Error

Since Arceli left, Josie and I have been trying to manage the whole school’s ESL classes on our own. It’s been a bit too much, sometimes I have 10 classes per day! It has been exhausting. My day starts at 7.30 am, with Grade four, followed by 5B, 5A, preschool, Grade 3 and then Grade 2. I get a rest a lunchtime, then I teach 7A, 7B, 8A and Grade 11.

My main concern is that I can’t connect with the Grade 11 class. I only see them three times per week, and their English isn’t where I feel that it should be. They say that I speak too quickly and that they can’t understand me, but I speak to them in the same fashion as all of my other classes. We usually only get through a simple game and one activity per lesson. I think we’re all equally frustrated with each other, which is not a good atmosphere for teaching.

7B is also causing some headaches. This class is mostly boys, and they’re very easily distracted. While they’re frustrating, we do manage to get our work done. It’s just a matter of finding ways to keep them on task. Class participation is improving, so if we can just get the concentration issues nixed, then we’ll be good.

Last week I decided to take a few classes out to play soccer. This seemed to be well received, if only because they didn’t have to do any work… I think it was good, they all encouraged me to play (not that I have any idea of how to). The 8A boys spent a long time trying to help me score a goal, while the 7As and Bs were just happy to let me have a go at being helpful… Unfortunately the weather was ridiculously hot, so Teacher Jess was dying, just a little…

2014-10-16 16.18.06 2014-10-17 14.18.34 2014-10-17 14.18.41

My 7A girls played the Grade 8 girls this afternoon. I only have two students on the Grade 8 team, so I will admit to being a little biased! I went down to watch the second half of the game after my last class today. It was nice to just hang out with the class, and support my students.

7A are in the red and white kits...

7A are in the red and white kits…

2014-10-20 17.01.12

Leave a comment